OPay Expands ₦1.2 Billion 10-Year Scholarship Programme to 41 Nigerian Institutions

OPay has expanded its ₦1.2 billion 10-year scholarship programme to 25 tertiary institutions in Nigeria and plans to extend the initiative to 41 institutions by the end of 2026. The latest expansion follows a new Memorandum of Understanding between OPay and Miva Open University, which increases the number of tertiary institutions participating in the long-term scholarship initiative from 24 to 25. OPay says another 16 institutions are expected to join before the end of 2026.

The scholarship initiative forms part of the wider OPay Scholars Programme, which has also expanded to include the National Innovation Challenge and OPay Futures, programmes designed to provide Nigerian students with skills, innovation and career-development opportunities alongside financial support.

For students, the most important development is not simply the increase in the number of partner institutions. The programme is structured as a 10-year commitment, meaning scholarship support is intended to continue over an extended period rather than being limited to a one-time educational intervention.

OPay Scholarship expansion at a glance

FeatureDetails
ProgrammeOPay 10-Year Scholarship Programme
Broader platformOPay Scholars
Total commitment₦1.2 billion
Duration10 years
Current partner institutions25
Planned total by end of 202641 institutions
Newly added institutionMiva Open University
Education levelTertiary education
Scholarship value reported at participating institutions₦300,000 per student annually
Students supported per participating institution under the established model20 students annually
SelectionInstitution/programme-based; exact process can vary
Current nationwide application deadlineNo single deadline announced for the 41-institution expansion

The ₦300,000 annual award and 20-student-per-institution structure have been publicly reported for the established scholarship model. For example, OPay’s partnership with Olabisi Onabanjo University provides ₦300,000 annually to 20 students, while Bayero University Kano also confirmed the same annual structure.

What the latest OPay Scholarship announcement means

The September 2026 announcement represents another stage in OPay’s expansion of its long-term education programme. The initiative initially involved 20 tertiary institutions. Following additional partnerships, including the latest agreement with Miva Open University, the programme now covers 25 institutions. OPay intends to add 16 more institutions before the end of 2026, taking the planned reach to 41.

This means students should pay close attention to their own institution’s announcements. The expansion does not necessarily mean that every Nigerian tertiary student can submit an application directly to OPay today. In several previous partnerships, the scholarship has been implemented through individual universities or institutions.

How the ₦1.2 billion scholarship programme works

The programme was designed around a decade-long commitment to tertiary education.

Under the established structure, participating institutions receive scholarship support for 20 students each year, with each selected student receiving ₦300,000 annually for tuition and other academic-related expenses. At the original 20-institution scale, this translated to 400 student awards per year.

An institutional announcement from Federal Polytechnic Nekede reported that OPay disbursed ₦126 million to 420 students across 20 beneficiary institutions during the inaugural year, with each beneficiary receiving ₦300,000 in educational support. The programme has subsequently expanded beyond the original group of institutions.

Miva Open University joins the OPay scholarship network

The latest institutional addition is Miva Open University.

Its inclusion is notable because Miva operates a technology-enabled open university model, giving students another form of tertiary education through which OPay’s scholarship initiative can operate.

According to the September 2026 report, the partnership takes the number of OPay partner tertiary institutions to 25, with 16 additional institutions planned before the end of 2026.

The scholarship is not limited to conventional universities

One of the developments in the programme is the inclusion of different categories of tertiary institutions. Previous beneficiaries have included universities and polytechnics.

For example, Kwara State Polytechnic became the first polytechnic included in the OPay 10-year scholarship programme in 2025, with 20 students scheduled to receive ₦300,000 each.

Related:  Nigeria’s ₦600 Billion Cash Transfer Programme: Vulnerable Families, Students and Parents can get Schooling and Feeding Support

Other reported beneficiaries include Bayero University Kano, Alex Ekwueme Federal University Ndufu-Alike, Olabisi Onabanjo University and other tertiary institutions.

This institutional approach is important because scholarship access is not being restricted exclusively to students enrolled at conventional universities.

What students can receive

The established scholarship model provides ₦300,000 per selected student annually. The funding is intended to help with tuition and other academic-related expenses.

However, students should understand what this means in practical terms. The scholarship should not automatically be described as a fully funded scholarship covering every cost associated with university life.

Accommodation, feeding, transportation, personal expenses, international travel and visa costs are not identified as standard benefits of the programme.

The Eligibility Reality Check

Students should be careful about treating previous institutional requirements as universal rules because OPay’s scholarship is implemented through partner institutions.

  • Tertiary-student restriction: The programme is designed for students in tertiary institutions, rather than secondary-school pupils.
  • Partner-institution restriction: Access is linked to participating institutions. A student at a school that has not joined the programme should not assume they can apply through another institution.
  • Financial need: Previous reporting describes the scholarship as need-based and targeted at high-performing students from financially disadvantaged backgrounds.
  • Academic performance: Previous institutional announcements describe the beneficiaries as outstanding or high-performing students, although a single nationwide GPA cutoff has not been publicly established.
  • Application route: There is no verified evidence that every beneficiary applies through one central OPay scholarship portal. Students should follow announcements from their participating institution and OPay’s official channels.

Financial Gap Analysis

Expense CategoryCovered By ScholarshipCovered By Student (Hidden Gaps)
TuitionSupported through the ₦300,000 annual scholarshipAny tuition or institutional charge above the scholarship amount
Monthly StipendNo monthly stipend confirmedLiving and personal expenses
International FlightsNot statedStudent
Visa FeesNot statedStudent
Health InsuranceNot statedStudent
Academic-related expensesSupported; programme descriptions include academic-related expensesCosts exceeding the scholarship allocation

The ₦300,000 annual amount is therefore better understood as educational financial support, rather than a comprehensive living-expense scholarship.

Is the OPay scholarship fully funded?

No, not in the conventional international-scholarship sense. The programme provides substantial financial assistance, but available programme information does not establish that it covers all university costs. The commonly reported award is ₦300,000 per student per year, intended for tuition and academic-related expenses.

There is no confirmed standard provision for:

  • Monthly living allowance
  • International airfare
  • Visa fees
  • Accommodation
  • A separate health-insurance package

Students should therefore avoid describing the OPay scholarship as equivalent to fully funded scholarships such as some international government scholarship programmes.

How many students can benefit?

The established model provides scholarships to 20 students per participating institution annually.

At 20 institutions, this model would correspond to 400 annual awards. With the expansion to 25 institutions, the same structure would imply 500 annual awards if all 25 institutions operate under that model.

However, the total number of beneficiaries should not be presented as a confirmed 2026 figure unless OPay publishes the final beneficiary numbers for the expanded programme.

The planned expansion to 41 institutions could significantly broaden the number of students reached.

Why the 10-year structure matters

Many corporate scholarship programmes operate for one academic year. OPay’s programme is different in its stated duration.

The ₦1.2 billion commitment is structured over 10 years, allowing the company to establish longer-term partnerships with tertiary institutions. At individual institutions, the arrangement can create recurring opportunities for new beneficiaries each year.

For students, that means the most useful question is often not simply: “Is OPay offering a scholarship?”

It is: “Has my institution entered the OPay scholarship network, and how does my institution select its beneficiaries?”

The scholarship has expanded beyond financial assistance

OPay’s education initiative has developed into a wider student-development platform.

The OPay Scholars Programme now includes:

  • The ₦1.2 billion 10-Year Scholarship Programme
  • The National Innovation Challenge
  • OPay Futures
Related:  Nepal Flood Disaster: How International Students and NGOs Can Support Victims Through Funding, Relief and Recovery

The National Innovation Challenge was introduced in partnership with Google and 3MTT, with the goal of developing practical problem-solving and innovation skills among tertiary students.

OPay Futures focuses on career and employability development.

This makes the wider initiative different from a scholarship that simply pays part of a student’s school fees.

The OPay National Innovation Challenge is a separate opportunity

Students should not confuse the scholarship with the Innovation Challenge.

The 2026 Innovation Challenge was opened to tertiary students across Nigeria, with applicants required to participate as teams of five. The deadline was subsequently extended from June 14 to July 3, 2026.

That application window has now closed.

Therefore, the September 2026 announcement about expanding the scholarship network to 41 institutions should not be interpreted as a reopening of the 2026 Innovation Challenge.

Strategic Application Blueprint

1. Monitor your institution before searching for a generic OPay application form

Because the scholarship is built around institutional partnerships, students should first check their university or polytechnic’s official announcements.

Look for notices from:

  • Student Affairs Division
  • Dean of Students’ Office
  • Registrar’s Office
  • Scholarship or Financial Aid Office
  • Students’ Union Government
  • Official university website

This can be more useful than searching for an unofficial “OPay scholarship application form.”

2. Prepare a strong financial-need and academic profile

Previous programme reporting describes the scholarship as targeting high-performing students from financially disadvantaged backgrounds.

Students should therefore keep their academic records, school-fee information and evidence of financial circumstances organised. If an institution asks for a personal statement, explain the financial challenge clearly and connect it to your academic goals. Do not exaggerate hardship.

3. Demonstrate potential beyond your transcript

OPay’s wider education programme increasingly connects scholarships with innovation, technology and employability. Students who can demonstrate leadership, problem-solving, entrepreneurship, technology skills, community involvement or academic achievement may have stronger evidence of their potential where an application process requests such information.

The objective should not be to manufacture achievements. It is to document genuine work already completed.

How to ask your professor for a letter of recommendation

For the OPay scholarship, a recommendation letter should only be requested if the relevant institution’s application process requires one.

A lecturer who knows the student’s academic performance is generally more useful than a professor who has little knowledge of the applicant.

A student can make the request by explaining:

  • The name of the scholarship.
  • Why they are applying.
  • The deadline.
  • Why they selected the lecturer.
  • What the recommendation should address.

Give the referee enough time to write a meaningful recommendation.

If the institutional application does not request a recommendation letter, there is no need to submit one simply because other scholarship programmes require it.

Who should watch the OPay scholarship programme?

The programme is particularly relevant to:

  • Nigerian undergraduate students
  • Students attending OPay partner universities
  • Students attending participating polytechnics
  • Students from financially disadvantaged backgrounds
  • High-performing tertiary students
  • Students interested in technology and innovation opportunities
  • Students looking for institutional scholarships rather than international scholarships

Students outside participating institutions should monitor OPay’s announced expansion rather than assuming they are already eligible.

What students should do now

Students interested in the programme should take five practical steps.

  1. Check whether your institution is already an OPay partner.
  2. Monitor your institution’s official scholarship announcements.
  3. Ask the Student Affairs or relevant scholarship office whether OPay beneficiaries are currently being selected.
  4. Keep academic and financial documents ready.
  5. Verify every application link before submitting personal information or paying money.

Students should be especially cautious about websites claiming to offer an “OPay scholarship registration fee” or requesting payment to guarantee selection.

A legitimate scholarship should not require students to pay an unofficial agent to secure an award.

Current application status

Status: Programme active and expanding, but no single nationwide 2026 application deadline is confirmed for the 41-institution expansion.

Related:  Kaduna Scholarship Board Spends ₦1.3 Billion in 18 Months as Some Scholars Remain Without Certificates

The September 2026 announcement concerns the expansion of the institutional network. The previously advertised 2026 OPay National Innovation Challenge application period has already closed.

Students should therefore distinguish between:

  • OPay 10-Year Scholarship Programme: Continuing and expanding through participating tertiary institutions.
  • OPay National Innovation Challenge 2026: 2026 application window closed.
  • OPay Futures: Separate career and employability component of the broader OPay Scholars platform.

OPay scholarship and other Nigerian scholarships

The OPay programme is best compared with other Nigerian scholarships on the basis of how funding is distributed.

FeatureOPay 10-Year ScholarshipTypical University ScholarshipInternational Fully Funded Scholarship
TargetNigerian tertiary students at partner institutionsUsually students of one institutionInternational students
Duration10-year programme frameworkVariesUsually programme-specific
Award reported₦300,000 annuallyVariesVaries
Living stipendNot confirmedUsually variesOften available in fully funded programmes
International travelNoUsually noOften covered where fully funded
Application routeInstitutional/programme-basedInstitution-basedUsually central application
Main purposeTertiary education supportAcademic/financial supportStudy abroad

The OPay scholarship is therefore particularly relevant to Nigerian students who need domestic tertiary-education support.

The bigger significance of the 41-institution target

The planned expansion from 25 to 41 institutions represents a substantial increase in the geographical and institutional reach of the programme.

It also shows a shift from isolated corporate scholarship donations toward longer-term partnerships with educational institutions.

For students, this matters because institutional partnerships can create a recurring route through which scholarship beneficiaries are identified.

For universities and polytechnics, such partnerships can also open the door to additional initiatives involving innovation, digital skills, cybersecurity and employability.

OPay has previously described the scholarship as an entry point into wider collaboration with partner institutions. A University of Maiduguri announcement, for example, reported that OPay viewed the scholarship as a gateway to additional initiatives including innovation and cybersecurity-related support.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the OPay ₦1.2 billion scholarship open to Nigerian students?

The scholarship programme is active and expanding, but there is no evidence of one nationwide application portal covering all 41 planned institutions. Students should check whether their institution is a participating partner and follow its official application or selection process.

How much does the OPay scholarship pay?

The established programme model provides ₦300,000 per selected student annually.

How many students receive the scholarship?

The established structure provides scholarships to 20 students per participating institution each year.

How long does the OPay scholarship last?

The programme is structured as a 10-year scholarship commitment. Individual beneficiary arrangements should be checked with the relevant institution.

Is OPay expanding the scholarship to 41 universities?

The planned expansion is to 41 tertiary institutions, not necessarily 41 universities. OPay currently has 25 partner tertiary institutions and plans to add 16 more by the end of 2026.

Is Miva Open University part of the OPay scholarship programme?

Yes. The latest expansion followed an MoU with Miva Open University, taking the number of partner tertiary institutions to 25.

Does OPay scholarship cover accommodation?

Accommodation is not identified as a standard scholarship benefit in the available programme information.

Does OPay pay a monthly allowance?

No monthly stipend is identified as a standard benefit.

Does the scholarship cover international flights?

No. This is a Nigerian tertiary-education scholarship and no international flight benefit has been announced.

Is the OPay scholarship fully funded?

No. The reported ₦300,000 annual award is educational support for tuition and academic-related expenses. It should not be presented as a comprehensive international fully funded scholarship.

Can students from polytechnics apply?

Polytechnic students can benefit where their institution participates. Kwara State Polytechnic was previously included in the programme, demonstrating that the initiative is not restricted exclusively to universities.

Is the OPay Innovation Challenge the same as the scholarship?

No. The Innovation Challenge is a separate component of the broader OPay Scholars Programme. The 2026 application window closed on July 3, 2026.

Official OPay Scholarship Source

For programme information and official updates, students should use OPay’s official scholarship page.

Students should also monitor the official website of their university or polytechnic because institutional partnerships can determine how scholarship beneficiaries are selected.

Conclusion

OPay’s expansion of its ₦1.2 billion, 10-year scholarship programme is significant for Nigerian tertiary students, particularly because the programme is moving beyond its initial group of institutions.

The initiative currently covers 25 tertiary institutions, with OPay planning to reach 41 institutions by the end of 2026. However, students should not mistake the expansion announcement for a blanket nationwide application call.

The practical opportunity is institution-specific. Students should first establish whether their university or polytechnic is an OPay partner, then follow the institution’s official process for identifying and selecting beneficiaries.

For students who qualify, the established ₦300,000 annual scholarship can provide meaningful support toward tuition and academic costs while the broader OPay Scholars platform provides additional opportunities in innovation, skills and employability.